Recreational fires, portable outdoor fireplaces/fire pits, stationary outdoor fireplaces and stationary outdoor fire pits are regulated by the North Carolina Fire Prevention Code and DON’T require an open-burning operational permit.
Does NC fire ban include fire pits?
The burn ban prohibits any fires more than 100 feet away from an occupied dwelling. Local regulations could dictate whether you can use your fire pit within 100 feet of the dwelling. … The ban includes any recreational burning, warming fires and charcoal or gas grills.
How far does a fire pit need to be from a house in North Carolina?
If you do decide to have a small recreational fire, be sure to take the following precautions: The fire pit or outdoor fireplace should be located 25 feet from any structure. The recreational fire should be constantly attended. A fire extinguisher or water hose should be available for immediate use.
Can you have a small fire pit in your backyard?
Yes. Backyard fire pits are legal as long as they follow the laws and regulations set up by the county they are in. … When building a fire in your backyard or at a campsite by using a fire pit, most people don’t know the rules or regulations in their city or town.
Are bonfires legal in NC?
The rule prohibits much outdoor burning and sets conditions for allowable fires. Under the rule, it is always illegal to burn trash and other non-vegetative materials. Leaves, branches and other plant growth can be burned under certain conditions. Violators can be fined up to $25,000 or more.
Is a fire pit an open fire?
Is a Fire Pit Open Burning? The answer is generally yes. However, some municipalities may define open burning differently due to the fact that while fire pits expel smoke directly into the air, many are off the ground and less likely to come in contact with combustible materials that could start a larger fire.
Are outdoor fires allowed?
There are no laws against bonfires, but you need to follow the rules of bonfires, to minimise nuisance. Be considerate towards your neighbours when lighting bonfires and BBQs and make sure not to cause a smoke nuisance.
Can I burn branches in a fire pit?
Be sure that your fire is placed away from long grasses, tree branches, or any other material that might easily catch fire if a stray spark were to land on it. You should also be sure that the size of the wood you are using is appropriate for the size of the pit.
How close to a property line can you have a fire pit?
At least 10 feet (or 3 meters) away from any structure is recommended. The distance varies depending on your county or municipality, so be sure to check out the specifics where you live.
Can you burn leaves in a fire pit?
If you’re burning leaves, containing the embers is important for safety. … Too many leaves at once will deprive the fire of oxygen and it will quickly die out. Fire pit kits aren’t intended for or safe for burning leaves.
Can I complain about my Neighbours fire pit?
If a Neighbour’s Bonfire Causes a Problem
If a neighbour is burning a bonfire which is causing a nuisance, you should go round to their house and ask them politely to extinguish it or if they could do anything to reduce its effects.
What is the code for fire pits?
Measurements. According to the Unified Fire Authority, residents can have a fire pit in their backyard, but the fuel area of the fire pit must be equal to or less than 2 feet in height and 3 feet in diameter.
How big of a fire can I have in my backyard?
Most municipalities place a limit on the size of a recreational fire as 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height. The purpose of the fire can be anything from pleasure, to religious or ceremonial, cooking, or warmth.
Can I burn leaves in my backyard NC?
Only leaves, branches or other plant growth can be burned. Homeowners can burn yard trimmings if allowable under local ordinances, no public pickup is available, and it doesn’t cause a public nuisance. Other allowable burning includes campfires, outdoor barbeques, and bonfires for festive occasions.
Can you have a bonfire on Sunday?
Some people believe that it’s against the law to burn a bonfire on a weekend or late in the evening, but this is simply not true. However, there are environmental laws that stipulate against a bonfire causing harm to health, the environment, or to the neighbours’ enjoyment of their property by producing excess smoke.
Do I need a burn permit in NC?
Open burning is regulated by the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources. A North Carolina Forest Service Burning Permit is required for all burning conducted in any woodland, or within 500 feet of any woodland, during the hours starting at midnight and ending at 4:00 pm.