The fuel area cannot exceed 3ft diameter by 2ft in height. … Keep open fires 25 feet away from structures or combustible materials. Fires contained in an improved barbecue pits or portable outdoor fireplace require a minimum of 15 feet of clearance. LP or natural gas fire pits or grills require 10 feet of clearance.
Are fire pits legal in Utah?
Salt Lake County prohibits burning solid fuel in fireplaces or wood burning stoves and bans outdoor fires (including bonfires, patio pits and charcoal grill fires) on days that the State of Utah designates as either mandatory or voluntary air action (no burn) days.
What are the fire laws in Utah?
Stage 1 Restrictions: No open fires of any kind except within established public facilities in improved campgrounds, picnic areas. Stage 2 Restrictions: NO OPEN FIRES OF ANY KIND — even within an established fire pit. Devices using pellets, compressed or liquid or gas (grills, stoves, lanterns, heaters, etc.)
Can you have a contained fire in your backyard?
Yes. Backyard fire pits are legal as long as they follow the laws and regulations set up by the county they are in. … When building a fire in your backyard or at a campsite by using a fire pit, most people don’t know the rules or regulations in their city or town.
Can you have a campfire in Utah right now?
The restrictions ban the use of campfires or any open flames, tent stoves, coal and wood burning stoves, charcoal grills and barbecues (propane stoves are allowed). This applies to all public land, as well as unincorporated private land.
Can I have a fire in my backyard Utah County?
The fire code allows residents to have small recreational fires at their residence. The fuel area cannot exceed 3ft diameter by 2ft in height. Burning is limited to dry, clean, natural materials…… no garbage, plastics, rubber, oils or construction waste.
Is a fire pit considered an open flame?
Is a Fire Pit Open Burning? The answer is generally yes. However, some municipalities may define open burning differently due to the fact that while fire pits expel smoke directly into the air, many are off the ground and less likely to come in contact with combustible materials that could start a larger fire.
Do you need a fire permit in Utah?
Depending on the type of burning and where it takes place, a permit is not always needed. Several types of fire are exempt from some laws and rules; however, notification to your local fire department is always required.
What is considered an open fire?
An open fire is a fire in which material is burned in an open, outdoor area or in a receptacle without a stack or chimney.
How big of a fire can I have in my backyard?
Most municipalities place a limit on the size of a recreational fire as 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height. The purpose of the fire can be anything from pleasure, to religious or ceremonial, cooking, or warmth.
How far can a fire pit be from house?
How far does a fire pit need to be away from the house? At least 10 feet (or 3 meters) away from any structure is recommended. The distance varies depending on your county or municipality, so be sure to check out the specifics where you live.
How far from your house can you have a fire pit?
Fire Pit Clearance
Before striking the match, never place a pit closer than 10 feet from anything flammable, including your house and overhead tree branches. Unless the owner’s manual says it’s okay, don’t put the pit on a grassy surface, wood deck, or enclosed porch.
Is the fire ban lifted in Utah?
8, 2021. As of Sept. 8, fire restrictions have been lifted for all Utah public lands managed by the Bureau of Land Management.
Why is it smoky in Utah today?
Our area of low pressure is to the North of Utah and with its counterclockwise flow, wraps that thick smoke back into the state.